Basic Information on Canadian Education

  • University: There are 96 public and private not-for-profit universities that offer a vast choice of undergraduate and post-graduate programs, as well as professional designations, certificate and diploma course.
  • Community College: There are over 150 members of the Association of Canadian Community Colleges. They are public institutions offering credentials that are sanctioned by provincial and territorial governments. Public colleges may also be known as institutes of technology, community colleges, polytechnics, colleges of applied arts and technology, and in Quebec, colleges d’enseignement général et professional (cégeps). They offer a wide range of education programs in a vast array of technical and professional fields. Programs take from a few months to four years.
  • High School and Elementary School: There are public and private primary and secondary schools. Public schools usually do not provide boarding facilities. They are intended for local students but they also accept international students and provide a homestay program with Canadian families. Many private schools provide residences and welcome international students. In all provinces except Quebec, students may seek admission to university after 12 years (Grade 1 to Grade 12) of primary and secondary schooling. In Quebec, there are only 11 years of elementary and secondary education. Students intending to enter university must first study two or three years at a CEGEP (college of general and vocational education).

© 2015 www.cccea.org.hk . All rights reserved.

基本升学资料

  • 大学:加拿大有96所公立及私立非牟利大学,提供大量研究生和本科学位课程、职业证书、结业证书和毕业文凭课程,以及短期职业培训课程。大部分大学提供三种类型学位:博士、硕士、学士(视乎个别省份,修读年期为3至4年)。
  • 专上学院:加拿大小区学院联合会拥有150位会员学院。这些公立学院均提供由省或地区政府批准的文凭证书。公立学院包括技术学院、小区学院、工艺专科学院、应用艺术和 技术学院及魁北克省的通识教育和专业教育学院等。这些院校提供大量技术及职业教育课程,包括商业、农业及农业食品、健康、社会服务、广播和传理、科技、科 学、信息技术、工程、环境、语言和艺术。修业时间由少于一年至四年不等。
  • 中小学:加拿大中小学分公立和私立两种。公立学校一般不设寄宿,以本地学生为主,但亦取录海外学生,提供住宿家庭计划,安排入住加拿大人家庭;很多私校均设有寄宿, 部份由教会主 办,它们均乐意招收海外学生。除魁北克省(Quebec)外,其他省份由第一班(Grade 1)进修至第十二班(Grade 12)后,便可申请进入大学。在魁北克省,学生完成第十一班后须再转读该省的普通和职业教育学院(简称CEGEP)攻读两至三年预科,方能升读大学。

© 2015 www.cccea.org.hk . All rights reserved.